California gulls sitting

Santa Catalina Island — Synchronized birding

Erika Rogers, real estate agent with Stout & Associates Realty in St. George, UtahThis post is dedicated to Erika Rogers, a real estate agent with Stout & Associates Realty in St. George, Utah. I have known Erika for several years through a real estate professional networking site and highly recommend her for anyone buying or selling a home in the St. George, Utah, area. If she can’t help you with your specific real estate needs, I know she can refer you to someone (almost) as good as she is.

Dedications are my way of trying to provide a little extra Google juice for people I have come to know and respect over the years.

Out & About San Diego

Pictures copyright 2010 by Russel Ray Photos

On my birthday trip last Sunday to Santa Catalina Island, my main goal was to see some American bison, more popularly known as buffalo. They are on Santa Catalina Island courtesy of William Wrigley Sr. of chewing gum and Chicago Cubs fame.

I failed.

However, I did see a lot of wildlife which I’ll share in my next few posts.

Today I’ll introduce you to synchronized birding. First….

Synchronized sitting, presented by two California gulls:

California gulls sitting

Pictures copyright 2010 by Russel Ray Photos

Synchronized standing, presented by the same two California gulls:

California gulls standing

Pictures copyright 2010 by Russel Ray Photos

Synchronized swimming, presented by two brown pelicans:

Brown pelicans swimming

Pictures copyright 2010 by Russel Ray Photos

I tried to get two California gulls swimming together but had to settle for the brown pelican substitutes.

By the way, the California gull is the state bird of Utah, but I’m pretty sure Erika Rogers, to whom this post is dedicated, knows that.

Pictures copyright 2010 by Russel Ray Photos

This post approved by Zoey the Cool Cat

11 thoughts on “Santa Catalina Island — Synchronized birding

      1. Ian Beattie

        I love pelicans, they have such attitude. I’ll make it my mission when I get back home to get some photos of our (Australian) pelicans for you 🙂

        Like

        Reply
  1. Erika Rogers

    Hi Russel, thanks so much for the dedication! I can always use a little more google juice:) Hope you had a wonderful birthday, sorry you didn’t catch any bison. Erika R.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ken

    Those California Gulls are actually Western Gulls – different species (note pink leg color, among other things) – sorry!

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.