Sudanese Striped Hyena

I am so sorry I woke you up

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I live in my own little world

With all my blogging these past two months, I’m getting behind on cataloging all the pictures I take each day, typically somewhere between 200 and 500. My employee, Eric Cooper, whom I hired in April 2011 to help me catalog 53,000 pictures (which has since grown to 73,000 pictures) is off pretending to be a WordPress expert, and with the path he’s on, he’ll be there soon. That leaves me to somehow find motivation to catalog as well as photograph.

In order to motivate myself, I decided that each day I’ll catalog some animal pictures, choose up to five of the best, and post them here in my new “my own little world” series. Hope you enjoy it.

Sudanese Striped Hyena

 

Sudanese Striped Hyena

 

Sudanese Striped Hyena

 

Sudanese Striped Hyena

 

Sudanese Striped Hyena (Hyaena hyaena dubbah) native to Northeast Africa, this one making its home at the San Diego Zoo.

 

This post approved byThis post approved by Zoey the Cool Cat

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

7 thoughts on “I am so sorry I woke you up

  1. 2 Rivers Photos

    What is the best way to find the name of animal without asking the mighty Russell? I have so many pics of the zoo that I’d like to post, I just have no idea what the animal is!! I should’ve taken a picture of the signs but I didn’t that until my last hour or so!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Russel Ray Photos Post author

    I’ve always taken pictures of the signs since 1995 when I bought my first digital camera. Even now, when I know 90% of the wildlife, I take pictures of the signs just because it makes identification easier when I get home. For those I don’t know, I will sometimes spend minutes, even hours, scrolling through my nature library to find the animal (or plant).

    If you have something you want to identify, send me some small jgps — 500 pixels long side should do it — and I can probably identify them for you. Otherwise you’re left to go to a library somewhere and make use of their nature books.

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.