National Train Day festivities at Los Angeles Union Station

Both ladies seem to be doing quite well

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Picture of the moment
PICTURE OF THE MOMENT

 

There were lots of photo opportunities during National Train Day festivities at the historic Los Angeles Union State this past Saturday, from trains to cars to buildings to people. Here is one of my favorites showing Santa Fe 3781, built in 1927, as well as an old Cadillac, a Railway Express truck, and, just for good measure, a few elderly people.

National Train Day festivities at Los Angeles Union Station

 

I couldn’t verify it, but I heard that the Cadillac and the Railway Express truck are from 1927, the same year that Baldwin Locomotive Works of Philadelphia built Santa Fe 3751.

Not until just a while ago did I recognize the lady in front. Later that day I was talking with her. She’s 83 years old and lives in Riverside, California. She and her boyfriend, the guy in the orange cap that she’s following, drove over for the festivities. She’s almost as old as the Santa Fe 3751; both ladies seem to be doing quite well.

 

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County? I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor with Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re just looking for a home inspector,
I can highly recommend Russel Ray; that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

7 thoughts on “Both ladies seem to be doing quite well

      1. jazfagan

        I’m gonna share a little something with you…I used to take my nephews for walks when they were little. Our path invariably took us over the 10th street bridge which goes over RR trax. I always told them that if they hit the center of the bridge and a train is passing that they should make a wish. The philosophy being that the train would carry the wish with them wherever it went increasing the chances that their wish may come true….Jaz

        Like

        Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.