Unknown bird

The best way to learn anything is to do it, and then practice, practice, practice!

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

My wise old grandmother

 

My wise old grandmother, she with the first grade public school education but a Ph.D. from the School of Hard Knocks, told me that the best way to learn anything is to do it, and then practice, practice, practice.

Over at YouTube, I found a pretty good video of how to replace skies using Photoshop. Go have a look at it because it’s helped me tremendously. Still frustrating — but down to just one beer per session….

Remembering my wise old grandmother’s WWW (Wise Words of Wisdom), I’ve been exploring all the various functions while replacing that sky using this picture of an unknown bird (Avian101?):

Unknown bird

 

I loved the way the bird was perched there but the background, oh that dastardly background.

After playing around in Photoshop, I came up with this:

Unknown bird

 

What I did was take the following picture of a cloudy sky,

Cloudy sky

 

…apply a Gaussian blur to it and then insert it as the background of the picture. I had a hard time finding just the right blur to look realistic and using all the selection tools to let the sky mask out the parts of the bird picture that I didn’t want.

My main problem was finding a cloud picture that was dark enough to be pretty but light enough so that I didn’t get the halo/ghosting effect around the bird. My next goal is to learn how to use the Refine Edge, Feathering, Smoothing, and other controls to prevent that halo/ghosting effect regardless of the pictures I use.

 

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County? I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor with Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re just looking for a home inspector,
I can highly recommend Russel Ray; that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

23 thoughts on “The best way to learn anything is to do it, and then practice, practice, practice!

    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      Hey, Kathy. Since Eric quit on April 30, I’m having to learn more of this stuff myself. It’s fun, but I have to limit myself each day or it could become an obsession, one which would not pay the bills yet. lol

      Like

      Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      Well, yes and no. They both are Corvus species, and most of us confuse the two. I even confuse the grackles. The American crow or common crow is Corvus brachyrhynchos. the Common Raven is Corvus ccorax.

      Like

      Reply
  1. ndjmom

    I’ve started a sky/clouds collection, now it’s refining the technique to avoid those pesky edges and artifacts. Still using CS2, too broke to get an upgrade, so I got Lightroom 4 instead.

    Like

    Reply
      1. ndjmom

        Did not know you could subscribe,…hmmm, that’s a thought, if I could get my photography to pay for itself that would be an option. Now I have a goal.

        Like

        Reply
  2. Sugar Mummies

    That is really interesting, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to in search of more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

    Like

    Reply
  3. Sandra C.

    Thank you for following my blog i wonder if you read it in english or in french? Lol i discover yours ! I Will have a look on your website ! I wish i Will see something about thé californian dream have an awesome Day bests regards from France sandra !

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.