Rock pigeon (Columba livia)

The eye! Get the eye!

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

How I Did It

 

As I get more comfortable with layers and masks in Photoshop CS6 (meaning that I don’t need alcohol to get me through a Photoshop session), I can go back to many of my bird pictures to see if I can make something decent out of them.

Here are four that I worked with this morning using adjustment layers and masks:

Unknown bird

Unknown bird


 

Rock pigeon (Columba livia)

Rock pigeon (Columba livia)


 

Brown pelican (Pelecanus occidentalis)

Brown pelican (Pelecanus occidentalis)


 

One thing that I have learned since January when I started birding again, after a 35-year sabbatical, is to focus on the eye of the bird.

Previously I thought that if you just focus on the bird’s body, everything else will turn out alright. I mean, the eye and the body are just inches apart, so what’s the problem?

The problem is that these cameras really do know what they are doing, but it still takes a human being to tell them what to do. Look at the second picture, the one of the rock pigeon. Can you tell where I focused? It should be easy to see that it wasn’t the eye.

I would really have loved that picture if the eye had been the focal point. As it is, well, it’s a picture of a rock pigeon for my collection, reminding me that I still need a great picture of a rock pigeon eating, drinking, or flying.

 

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County? I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor with Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re just looking for a home inspector,
I can highly recommend Russel Ray; that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

7 thoughts on “The eye! Get the eye!

  1. Shutterbug Sage

    Amazing shots! And for the record, I still need alcohol to use Photoshop…

    P.S. If you’d like to get rid of the new WordPress default that automatically ticks the “notify me of follow-up comments via email” box and then copies the folks who leave you comments on every future comment, please read this post: http://ayearofpics.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/important-update-you-can-remove-the-notify-me-of-follow-up-comments-via-email-option-from-your-wordpress-blog/.

    Some folks have reported not wanting to leave comments on WordPress-run sites due to this change. I know how much I live for comments on my blog, so wanted to share this tip with you, for whatever it’s worth.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Melanie B.

    Photoshop CS6 – I just answered my question to you from a previous comment! I am using Lightroom 4 (much, much cheaper). Lots of bells and whistles even there… I can’t even imagine Photoshop!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I’m subscribing to Photoshop CS6 because it’s only $19.99 a month. That’s less than my grocery bill, my electric bill, my phone bill, my insurance bill, my mortgage payment, my water bill…. even less than Zoey the Cool Cat’s monthly cat food bill! lol

      Like

      Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.