Abandoned home

I have no use for you anymore….

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Picture of the moment
PICTURE OF THE MOMENT

 

I camped out for a while today in Michael Fiveson’s blog. He has more great pictures of abandoned thises, thats, thingamabobs, doohickeys, and whatchamacallits that I was inspired to visit my own collection to see what abandoned stuff I might have. A quick browse found the following.

First up, an abandoned power plant:

Abandoned power plant

 

The power plant is scheduled to be demolished as soon as everyone quits fighting over what to do with that prime waterfront land that it sits on.

Nearby the abandoned power plant are some abandoned railroad tracks:

Abandoned railroad tracks

 

Abandoned railroad tracks

 

Abandoned railroad tracks

 

Not too far away I found some abandoned buildings on a farm. Not sure if the farm itself has been abandoned.

Abandoned buildings

 

About sixty miles east of the power plant and railroad tracks:

Abandoned building

 

Abandoned home

 

The last two pictures are on one of the Indian reservations here. While I was taking pictures one of the Reservation Police stopped by and told me that I could not take pictures without permission of the Tribal Council. I told him that I had already taken two pictures and he said not to take anymore. Didn’t ask me to delete them or anything.

The home at one time was obviously a beautiful colonial mansion. Too bad it has fallen into a state of disrepair. From what I could find out it is a historic house, apparently having been built  by the last Chief of the Indian band before they became a soverign nation within the United States, i.e., before they were banished to the reservation and all their other lands confiscated by the State and Federal governments.

 

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County? I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor with Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re just looking for a home inspector,
I can highly recommend Russel Ray; that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

12 thoughts on “I have no use for you anymore….

        1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

          I never had much use for cats either until late 2006 when a feral black cat adopted me. I was always dogs, snakes, mice, rats, guinea pigs, fish, hamsters, birds, horses, pigs, and chickens (oh, wait, chickens are birds, aren’t they?).

          Like

          Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I’ll be back. I have so many campgrounds that I have to visit. Right now it’s taking me about two weeks to get to everyone, but I usually catch up significantly on holiday weekends, like Memorial Day.

      Like

      Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.