Giant hibiscus

A rose by any other name is still a rose

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

How I Did It

 

My apologies to the literariasts (!) for bastardizing a great Shakespeare quote in Romeo and Juliet (“What’s in a name? that which we call a rose By any other name would  smell as sweet”), but I just discovered that in many software programs you can define black, white, and gray.

I started having a little fun by telling CorelDRAW X6 that a deep dark red was actually black. I took this picture of a giant hibiscus at the San Diego Zoo yesterday:

Giant hibiscus

 

I clicked on the color definition eyedropper for black and then clicked a dark red. CorelDRAW then reprocessed the image in just a couple of seconds. Then I clicked on “Auto adjust” and got this:

Reprocessed hibiscus picture

 

I was trying to analyze just exactly what CorelDRAW did and determined that if red is black, then there is a lot of the picture that is underexposed. Thus, when CorelDRAW went to auto adjust the picture, all those black (red) areas were brighted up a wee bit.

This opens a whole new realm of creating something that is me, kind of like Rubicorno has defined himself. The difference is that I can create my own preset, a preset that no one else in the world has.

At the very least, I’ve found something to do with my 73,000 pictures in my old age. 🙂

If my wise old grandmother were here, she’d say, “Interesting….”

 

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County? I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor with Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re just looking for a home inspector,
I can highly recommend Russel Ray; that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

8 thoughts on “A rose by any other name is still a rose

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.