Coming in for a landing

Clear the runway!

Picture of the Moment

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I love pelicans. They look so gangly and awkward. Just like me!

When I came to San Diego in April 1993, pelicans were nowhere to be found. About five years ago I noticed that pelicans were appearing in San Diego. Lots of them! Huge numbers of them. I thought, “It’s about time pelicans discovered how nice San Diego is but I wonder what took them so long.”

Several months ago an article in the newspaper confirmed that San Diego was being overrun with pelicans and no one really understood why. Doesn’t matter to me…. as long as they are here and let me take photographs of them.

Here is my #1 favorite, so far:

Coming in for a landing

Coming in for a landing

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The sad thing about my #1 penguin picture is that I took it with a Point & Shoot camera several years ago. The camera was set on its “home inspection setting,” so all I have is picture that is 800 x 712 pixels, quality enough for the Internet and nothing else. 😦

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

34 thoughts on “Clear the runway!

            1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

              Many of my pictures have titles like “IMG_98214.” Since I take an average of about 500 pictures each and every day, it’s easy to get behind if I skip a day (like today when I’m going to go to the Antique Engine & Tractor Show 45 miles from me). Thus I spend 30 minutes each day renaming the pictures and placing them in the correct folder. Zoey the Cool Cat has her own folder; otherwise, it’s fauna, flora, and other, with hundreds of subfolders in thos three main folders.

              Like

              Reply
        1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

          It is now 3:51 a.m. I’m a catnapper in every sense of the word. The most I can ever sleep is about 2½ hours. After that I just lay there thinking, “Why don’t I get up and do something.” So I do. Otherwise it’s 30 minute naps whenever I get tired or when my eyes start watering.

          Like

          Reply
  1. artzent

    That’s a really good photo! Love the action. Will you trade some of your pelicans for some of these darn South Florida four inch long disgusting ravenous grasshoppers that have moved up to North Florida and invaded my organic garden because it’s getting warm, warm, warm! I am told that Peacocks have invaded South Florida and now walk right down the street; screeching breaks everywhere! Want some? I have friends who will gladly send them your way! lol

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      No grasshoppers. No, no, no. I don’t miss that buggers from my life in Texas.

      I have a friend here who as seven or eight pairs of pea foul on his property. They are the sons and daughters of pea foul that were released from an East County Zoo back in the ’40s or so when it closed. Hard to compete with the San Diego Zoo if you’re within 90 miles.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Maureen Devaney

    I live in San Diego and have never seen a peligan. What areas are the best to find them? Love your photos

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      The best place is over in Mission Bay, over by the Hyatt and Red Marlin restaurant. La Jolla cover is teeming with them, too. Walk from the La Jolla Cave store down to the cover and you should see dozens of seals, sea lions, and pelicans right there. Those are my two favorite places.

      Like

      Reply
  3. rommel

    I always always have problem taking pictures of birds in flight. You obviously did such an outstanding. And with a point and shoot, extra amazing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. dianne

    beautiful post, i enjoyed all i looked at and i’m glad zoey approved them all.. hehee. and also thank you very much for following my blog.. : )

    Like

    Reply
  5. Gina's Professions for PEACE

    Sometimes comical and awkward yet to watch those coordinated dives and flying formations. Pure grace! I’m lucky to have flocks of them near me too. Great photo!

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.