Find Photoshop expensive? Consider leasing.

How I Did It

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Currently on my computer I have these digital photo editing programs:

  • Adobe Photoshop CS6
  • Adobe Lightroom 4.1
  • Corel PaintShop Pro X4
  • Corel Photo-Paint X6
  • CorelDRAW! X6
  • Word 2010 (don’t underestimate it!)

I have had Photoshop, Photo-Paint, CorelDRAW!, and Word since their initial releases decades ago.

When I went to upgrade Photoshop, I discovered the steep price. I also discovered Lightroom, so rather than the steep price for a Photoshop upgrade, I opted to continue using my very old version of Photoshop and learn Lightroom.

When I went to upgrade my very old versions of Photo-Paint and DRAW!, I discovered PaintShop Pro. The price was very reasonable, so I bought it.

I use all of those programs for various purposes, but my current goal is to see if I can get Photoshop to do everything. If I can, then ultimately I’ll be migrating my skills in all the other programs over to Photoshop.

I think that Photoshop is the most powerful individual programs, but if I combine DRAW! X6 and either Photo-Paint X6 or Paintshop Pro X4, I can do in them anything that Photoshop can do. The question is, “How easily?” or “How much time is involved?”

For example, I use CorelDRAW! X6 to do the Zoey the Cool Cat approval stamp at the end of each post. It takes me about 15 seconds. To do it is Photoshop would take several layers and lots of time, and I haven’t found that Photoshop Actions can really automate everything for me yet.

I use Word 2010 to create quick frames, like the one I use for my wise old grandmother:

My wise old grandmother

That took about 15 seconds in Word 2010.

I use Lightroom 4.1 to give me quick JPGs from RAW files and to do quick adjustments for exposure, highlights, shadows, contrast, and clarity (sharpness). Five sliders takes about 30 seconds. The same tasks in Photoshop takes several minutes due to having to go through Adobe Camera Raw first and then into Photoshop. Minimum of five layers in Photoshop.

I use Photo-Paint to create GIFs. It’s the easiest program I’ve found for that:

You could learn a lot by paying attention here

PaintShop Pro X4 is very similar to Photoshop, and I’ve found it much easier to use. However, simply because Photoshop is the defacto standard throughout the world, Photoshop is where I’m dedicating my time. When you have a defacto standard, you have a lot of people doing tutorials and creating plugins and such. So Photoshop it is.

One you have created certain effects that you like in any of the programs, you can either save the file as a template and then just replace the picture as needed (that’s what I do in CorelDRAW! and Word) or you can create actions, scripts, or macros in the other programs to automate tasks. As with anything, it takes time to set it up initially but then the ROI on your time is returned each succeeding time you do the same thing.

If you’re considering Photoshop and find the price too steep, consider leasing it, which is what I do. I have a one-year lease with Adobe that costs me $19.99 a month. Considering that the full program is $699, it would take me 35 months of leasing to pay for the program. That’s three years. During those three years, Adobe will come out with two upgrades, costing you $199 each, another $400. You’ll never be able to stay up to date with the latest and the greatest. With a lease, you can.

Twenty dollars a month is less than any of my other individual bills — gas, phone, cable, mortgage, electricity, etc., and something I can easily afford. Coming up with $699 all at one time, and then $199 every 18 months, can often be difficult for the 99%.

If you’re considering a Photoshop lease, when you go to buy the product, in the dropdown box, select “Subscription” instead of “Upgrade” or “Full.”

Once you have any of these programs, if you have a question about how to do something, ask me. If I don’t know how to do it, I’ll find out. It helps me learn, and real-world examples are always much more fun than reading through a book or watching a tutorial.

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

16 thoughts on “Find Photoshop expensive? Consider leasing.

  1. Mondrak

    Brilliant info. Thanks 🙂 I used to used Paintshop Pro a long time ago until I was given Photoshop CS5 from a friend who didn’t want it any more “Here you can have it” “how much” “the ‘here you can have it’ kind of gives the free hint” Love his sarcasm lol

    Like

    Reply
  2. Margarita

    This is really helpful! Right now my photo editing skills are limited to cropping and I use Microsoft Works Paint for that. When I upgrade from a cell phone to a real camera, it’s good to be educated on how to upgrade/acquire editing skills! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Carol

    I use Photoshop Elements, a baby photoshop for $100 or less. My son keeps encouraging me to upgrade, but PSE does all I need or want, and I much prefer its price to that of the full-blown PS!

    Like

    Reply
  4. sherijkennedyriverside

    You gave me hope that I can get photoshop again! What a cool thing that lease option is, and I never heard a word about it. Our copy died with my husband’s Mac. Although if I get photoshop, I’m really going to have a stuggle staying up on all my blog-friends….days are just too short…ya know. By the way, Thanks so much for camping out at my Riverside last Saturday. I was visiting Mt. Baker, WA while you were visiting me. A wonderful day which has many photos to share from it. But I was sorry I missed you.
    Thanks so much for the info in this post. You’re awesome, Russel!

    Like

    Reply
  5. tchistorygal

    This.was great information. I’ve been using Paint Shop Pro, and I like it, but I’m new,even at that. I just got a new computer, and purchased Photoshop Elements 10, Its much more work, and I’m going to need lessons to even begin to uncover the power. Loved your comparison, and process times.

    Like

    Reply
  6. 12thsonoflama

    I tried the Corel program but really struggled to learn it. I found there wasn’t as much information available as with PhotoShop programs. There was alot of information and tutorials online for PhotoShop and while the price was higher (I was able to get a student/teacher discount through a friend who is a teacher) it wasn’t obnoxiously higher for what I thought was less of a learning curve because of the easier access to tutorials…IMHO.

    Like

    Reply
  7. kdkh

    When you posted this, I made a mental note but wasn’t ready. Now, I’m trying to decide what to get. Now that you’ve had your new Photoshop CS6 for a few months, do you have any recommendations? Maybe I could get by with Lightroom since I only do photo editing. What do you think?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I don’t think Lightroom is a good editing program unless you spend money on all the plugins that are available. I think Photoshop Elements is far superior. So if I were to rank them on power, ease of use, and price, here’s what I’d have:

      GIMP – Powerful and free
      Photoshop CS6 – Powerful, expensive, and steep learning curve
      PaintShop Pro X5 – Powerful, reasonable, steep learning curve
      Photoshop Elements – Powerful, reasonable, learning curve not that steep
      Lightroom – I use Lightroom only for one reason and that’s to create thumbnails that are 1000 pixels on the long side. It can do more but since I have Photoshop and PaintShop Pro, I see no reason to use Lightroom since it’s just not as powerful as the other two.

      Give GIMP a shot, though. I hear good things about it, and it’s free!

      Like

      Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      There is a significant difference between CS3 and CS6. If you are considering upgrading from CS3 to CS6, I think it’s definitely worth the upgrade. In fact, I’d spend my money on the upgrade rather than learning a new program, free or otherwise.

      Like

      Reply
  8. kdkh

    Ah, that’s what I needed to know. Thank you! Love your photos – and you’re the first one to ever mention leasing. I plan to give it a try. I appreciate the advice!

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.