Amtrak Pacific Surfliner in San Diego

Amtrak Pacific Surfliner in San Diego

Railroads & Trains logo

Along with the weather in San Diego, which allows me to be outside quite often, one of the most enjoyable aspects of living here is the opportunity to ride trains, and at a reasonable cost. The red San Diego Trolley takes me most places, but there’s also the Coaster from downtown San Diego to Oceanside, the Sprinter from Oceanside to Escondido, Metrolink from Oceanside to Los Angeles, and Amtrak from San Diego to Los Angeles.

I recently rode the Amtrak Pacific Surfliner to Los Angeles and back. Here is my train at the historic Santa Fe Depot in downtown San Diego.

Amtrak Pacific Surfliner in San Diego

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The Pacific Surfliner normally has a single engine and six cars. My train this day was a double header with six cars! Trains between San Diego and Los Angeles use the push/pull system whereby the engine always points south. So when the train is traveling south from L.A. to San Diego, the engine is at the front of the train, pulling. When the train is traveling north from San Diego to L.A., the engine is at the rear of the train, pushing.

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

10 thoughts on “Amtrak Pacific Surfliner in San Diego

  1. dearrosie

    I’ve taken the train from LA to San Diego and back. I highly recommend it. It offers one of the finest sea views from a train window (I didn’t know that the engine didnt change position)

    Like

    Reply
  2. Halim

    I love trains! I’ve travelled only to a few countries, and have had the oppurtunity to experience journeys by rail only in Malaysia, Thailand and Italy, but I loved them all.

    That’s a gorgeous photo. Not only the train looks nice but the station as well. Would be lovely to see pictures of what’s inside the train. Maybe next time? Cheers 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pit

    Hi Russel,
    I think I’ll really need to travel by train some time, too, maybe going from here to LA when we want to visit with my wife’s daughter in San Jose. That should be a great experience.
    Take care,
    Pit

    Like

    Reply
  4. Bashar A.

    Southern California government needs to pay you something for all this advertising!! I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned from you and how much I want to try because of you… forget Google for searching for new places, just get my daily russell ray posts and I’m good 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.