Union Pacific 844 steam engine in Southern California, November 2011

Happy National Train Day!

Railroads & Trains logo

National Train Day

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Angel's Flight Railway in Los AngelesHappy National Train Day!

I’m out riding the trains today — San Diego Trolley, Amtrak, and Los Angeles Metro.

I’ll be starting at San Diego Trolley’s 70th Street Station, then to San Diego’s historic Santa Fe Depot, then to the even more historic Union Station in Los Angeles, and finally Metro’s Red Line to Hollywood. To end the day, simply reverse the trip.

I also plan on finally getting to ride the Angel’s Flight Railway after all these years. Seems every time I’ve gone in the past it was either out of service or decommissioned. Unless it breaks in the next 12 hours, it’s up and running.

If you can’t get out to ride the trains today, then at least sit back and watch a few of my train videos.

San Diego Trolley arriving at Santa Fe Depot in San Diego

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Amtrak Pacific Surfliner leaving Santa Fe Depot in San Diego

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Amtrak Pacific Surfliner arriving at Old Town Station in San Diego

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Coaster arriving at Santa Fe Depot in San Diego

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Union Pacific Steam Engine #844 near Indio, California, November 2011

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Union Pacific Steam Engine #844 at 70 miles per hour
near Indio, California, November 2011

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

13 thoughts on “Happy National Train Day!

    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I have not, and I suspect I won’t live long enough to the the high speed train built in California from San Diego to Los Angeles to San Francisco to Sacramento. There are just too many naysayers and not enough money to fight them and still build the train.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Susan T's Kitchen

    My favorite train trip was going from LA all the way to PA! It was during Christmas and it was just beautiful seeing all the decorations from the viewing car! If you every have a chance to go cross country, go first class because everything from a sleeping car to your meals is taken care of. They even put your bed down at night and deliver a newspaper in the morning.

    Like

    Reply
  2. tchistorygal

    Hi Russel Ray,
    I’m on a train right now on the way home from SF. Unfortunately wi-fi isn’t good enough to download any of your videos. We were going to try to watch Vertigo on the way home because we took an Alfred Hitchcock tour in SF, but again, that didn’t work. I guess the internet is too slow! Anyway, it was wonderful I’ll do a post about it later this week. It was so much easier than driving! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.