Caring makes you a better person and the world a better place

Caring makes you a better person and the world a better place

Out & About

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Texas A&M UniversityI went to public schools — grade school in Brigham City, Utah, and Kingsville, Texas; and junior high and high school in Kingsville. Then I went to a public university, Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. Although I never had children (never wanted them), if they had existed, they would have gone to public schools because I think public schools do a better job of actually proving to children that there are good and bad in anything. If you go to an elite, private school, all you get exposed to are elite, private peers. Who wants that? I need variety in my life!

With no children, and no desire to serve on a school board, I do have an interest in what our public schools are teaching. I think John Green said it best about why he has no problem paying school taxes:

John Green

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Just a block from me is the Harriet Tubman School:

Harriet Tubman School in San Diego, California

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Even though it’s only a block from me, it is in San Diego, not La Mesa.

I’m a big history buff so I know who Harriet Tubman was. She was born Araminta Harriet Ross and is known as an African-American abolitionist, a humanitarian, and a Union spy during the Civil War. Although she was born into slavery, she escaped and, during the Civil War period, made 19 missions to rescue more than 300 slaves using a network of antislavery activists and safe houses known as the Underground Railroad.

Did you get that? The Underground Railroad! It should be obvious to many of my readers that when I found a book in our school library titled something like “Harriet Tubman & the Underground Railroad,” well, I had to read it. Satisfied my insatiable thirst for both history and railroads!

As I was walking home from Pep Boys today (three blocks from me), I walked by the Harriet Tubman School. It is an elementary school and I was intrigued by some sort of art that had been placed above the auditorium entrance. As I got closer, I could see that it was tile art. Looks like this:

Tile art at the Harriet Tubman School in San Diego, California

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looks like a mess to me, but I suspect it was done by K-5 students. Perhaps if I were to study it longer, I could make something out of it.

As I continued to walk by the school, I saw some interesting hangings on the fence and went to take a closer look. Here are some of the dastardly stuff that this school is teaching its students (ack!):

Respect, give it to get it

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

We have a right to....

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Caring makes you a better person and the world a better place

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I’m thinking that the teachers at the Harriet Tubman School might be able to teach our politicians a thing or two. Then again, maybe it is too late to help politicians.

As I was stepping away from the fence, a young woman came out of the door with several books under her arms. I was pretty sure she was a teacher. I walked up to her and asked, “Are you a teacher?” She said, “Yes.” I said, “Thank you” and walked away. I don’t have eyes in the back of my head, but I could feel surprise and happiness exuding from the body behind me. I think I made her day.

I’m Zoey the Cool Cat
and I approve this post!Zoey the Cool Cat

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

27 thoughts on “Caring makes you a better person and the world a better place

  1. disperser

    I would not mind paying taxes either if it reduced the number of stupid people . . . despite what I consider large contribution, personal experience tells me the tide is heading the other way.

    But, that’s just me . . . maybe I’m getting smarter at a faster rate than people around me.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I think we just see more stupid people because there are more people on Earth. In 1974 there were four billion people on Earth. In 2012 there were seven billion. That and the 24/7 Internet makes it easy for the stupid people to show themselves, and for us to see them much more easily.

      Like

      Reply
  2. syllabubsea

    I’m sure she was absolutely delighted Russel. Few people think about what goes on at school in that broader way and even fewer would put it into words. Well done Harriet Tubman School and well done Russel!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Naomi Baltuck

    HI Russel,
    I am married to a school librarian, and no one knows how many hours he spends working–WAY beyond what he gets paid for. It’s so nice to hear an appreciation voiced, because this country has somehow demonized teachers–and teacher unions–for wanting smaller classes, cost of living raises, basic supplies for their classrooms. Don’t they get that teachers’ working conditions are kids’ learning conditions? I think the government has schools and kids on the chopping block, because they haven’t got the clout corporations have, or the money to hire lobbyists. Thank you so much for speaking out.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: “Two Awards In One Week Shine On and WordPress Family Award” | Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

  5. Pingback: Caring makes you a better person and the world ...

  6. Pingback: Caring makes you a better person and the world a better place … | Legitimate Work at Home Jobs & Opportunities

  7. tchistorygal

    You’re my hero for the day, Russel Ray. You have shown the world how important public education is – EVEN when you don’t have children. We all live in the world together – people with and without children. We depend on the skills of others to exist. If we do a poor job of training the next generation we hurt ourselves. Thanks Russel Ray! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.