Young African elephants at the San Diego Zoo's Safari Park

If I wasn’t dirty before……..

San Diego Zoo logo

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Following are four flash videos taken at the San Diego Zoo on May 17, 2013, when I was with Bryan and Liz Flint. They are from Houston, and Liz is an old blogging friend whom I first met online in 2008. So don’t despair if you’ve known someone online for several years and don’t think you’ll ever meet them in person. It can happen!

We’re dirty!

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Bird or fish?

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

If I wasn’t dirty before…….

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Ummmm, good!

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I’m Zoey the Cool Cat,
and I approve this post.Zoey the Cool Cat

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

10 thoughts on “If I wasn’t dirty before……..

    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      The elephants seem to love it there. They have seven acres to run around in, places to play in the water, places to roll around in the dirt (I have pictures to prove it!), they get pedicures all the time, and water baths, and all sorts of food, too.

      The two emaciated elephants that the Zoo rescued from some private jerk in Texas have been here a year now and have put on a few hundred pounds and are now happily roaming the grounds with the other elephants.

      They are anything but bored!

      Like

      Reply
      1. valeriedavies

        Sounds wonderful Ray, you’ve put my mind at rest, I’d have been feeling miserable in the small hours of the morning ! And how heart-warming that the two elephants have been rescued and are happy – great story thank you…

        Like

        Reply
  1. Bashar A.

    After seeing the elephants in Africa… I can’t say that they’re happy in the zoo even though we’d all like to believe so. Now if they were tortured by some douche bag than I’m sure they are happier at the zoo… but for instance the seeing the leopard in a cage really bothered me because it clearly wasn’t happy… at least to me.

    BTW, I’m not against zoos because they do a lot of good… its just some of them don’t look happy with where they are.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I think the only animals that are not happy at the Zoo are the newborns that haven’t overcome their natural instinct, parents who worry about the newborn, and animals that are rescued from the wild or, in the case of our newest two elephants, rescued from idiots who have enough money to buy elephants but have no clue how to care for them. Elephants are a keystone species so it’s important that we try to keep as many in the wild as possible. That’s where Zoos come in with their breeding and release programs. Many of the Zoo’s elephants from Safari Park have been released back into the wild in Africa, even though the “wild in Africa” is defined as elephant sanctuaries there. Adult elephants don’t really have any predators other than man, but injured elephants and juveniles do have to worry, so I suspect the elephants are quite happy in the Zoo getting fresh food all the time, playing in the water, getting baths and pedicures and scrubdowns, and not having to worry about any predators eating the old and the young.

      Like

      Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.