Pedicabs

Making something out of nothing at all

Picture of the Moment

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I am a firm believer in what my wise old grandmother always used to tell me: “What comes out of the camera is just the basics to start with.”

Here is a picture as it came out of the camera:

Cruddy picture

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

That’s a pretty cruddy picture. It’s out of focus and noisy, to say the least. However, I really liked the colors of those two pedicabs and decided to try to make something out of the picture.

I took the picture to Photoshop CC and, seeking to take the easy way out, just started applying filters at their default settings. I quickly found one I liked: the plastic wrap filter (Filter ► Filter Gallery ► Artistic ► Plastic Wrap). The Plastic Wrap settings were Highlight Strength 15, Detail 5, and Smoothness 5. Here is the result:

Pedicabs

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The original picture would be considered a throwaway by many photographers who still seek to “get it right in the camera,” those who seemingly don’t understand that getting it right in the camera often means accepting what the camera software programmers think is “right.”

Never give up on a picture. As with all things in life, try to make something, even if you’re trying to make it out of nothing at all.

This post approved byThis post approved by Zoey the Cool Cat

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, BRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

12 thoughts on “Making something out of nothing at all

  1. Jack Viere

    Hello Russel,
    You have been one of my top followers and commenters on my Unas Picturas blog. I am really thankful for that! I am moving to another blog this year for a school project, and I would really value your continued support and commenting (and maybe even some more critiques!) as I am beginning a new journey with HDR photography. I truly find your end product inspiring and your work ethic as exemplary.
    Thanks a bunch,
    Jack
    http://jvierephoto.com/

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pit

    Well, you certainly have a point there, Russel. But since I don’t expect to have the time, even in my retirement [“real retirement” at that], to do something with them, I delete some of my pictures. The positive effect: it makes it easier to go through the remaining ones once in a while and enjoy tehm.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      After going through the photos once and cataloging them, I never go through them again. Instead, I have digital photo frames and smart TV’s in every room. That’s three bedrooms, two bathrooms, the living room, the office, the dining room, the breakfast nook, the kitchen, the laundry room, and the lanai. Photos are constantly playing on them.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.