But what is it?

Inspiration

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

One of the interesting things that I have noticed during my stompings around San Diego County is the number of impromptu memorials (for lack of a better, or more relevant, term), such as this one:

Impromptu memorial

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I found that near some coastal railroad tracks where I had set up to watch the trains go by.

I was transfixed, mesmerized, inspired by it. It exuded peace and relaxation. Maybe that was its intent.

Is it a memorial? Is it religious? Anyone know?

DaturaThe reason why I ask is because I want to create Photographic Art from that picture but I don’t want to be using a religious symbol or memorial inappropriately. The other thing is that on the back of each Photographic Art print will be some fact/information/trivia about what’s presented in the art. For example, the back of a flower art print might have information about the flower or plant—datura and brugmansia, known as angel’s trumpet and pictured at the right, are toxic and can create severe skin problems if you get the sticky white sap on you. How can something so beautiful be so dangerous?

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend James Frimmer, Realtor, CDPE
CA BRE #0145857201 HomeSmartDiamondSmall copy 2

02 HomeSmartRWnameOnly2 copy

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

7 thoughts on “But what is it?

  1. Morgan Mussell

    It looks like Buddha, perhaps homemade, and half of a medicine wheel. Not certain of the figure, however, because the three pointed headdress is non-traditional for Buddhist sculpture, and almost has a South American feel. The construction definitely has some kind of spiritual import, perhaps personal, but if it’s out there for all to see, I think respectful treatment is all that’s required for any photo work you want to do with it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. appletonavenue

    The statue reminds me of the Buddha. Perhaps a Hindu god? Regardless, I think you are right and it is spiritual or a shrine. Perhaps something happened to someone there. I think you treated the figure with genuine respect, and I don’t think anyone could fault you there. Perhaps on the back you can just indicate the mystery of it. Anyway you look at it, it’s a lovely photo of a beautiful home made shrine.

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.