Get up high enough and you can see ’em!

San Diego Zoo Safari Park

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The African Lions are very popular at the Zoo and at Safari Park. There are two at the Zoo, and they usually are visible because their playpen is not that big. At Safari Park, it’s a different story. They probably have a few acres to run around in, so actually seeing them is hit or miss.

However, I found out recently that if you get up high enough, you can see ’em!

I went on the Balloon Safari:

Balloon Safari at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park in San Diego, California

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The Balloon Safari holds about thirty people and takes you up into the wild blue yonder, about 400 feet up. From that high, I could see my hometown of Kingsville, Texas. Well, maybe not that far, but you can see a lot, such as these two female lions doing what all cats like to do: sleep!

Female African Lions at the San Diego Zoo Safari Park

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The San Diego Zoo Safari Park is out near Escondido, and it gets extremely hot out there in the summer time, often up in the triple digits. That’s triple digits Fahrenheit for my Canadian friends.

Consequently, now is the best time to go to this beautiful 1,800-acre park comprising over 2,600 animals representing more than 300 species, as well as 3,500 plant species. It’s also very hilly in some areas, so wear comfortable shoes.

Remember, if you’re coming to San Diego, give me a call! I often can play docent for a day—Zoo, Safari Park, SeaWorld, Scenic 59-mile Drive, etc. And if you fly into San Diego, sit on the left side of the plane; the view of downtown San Diego as you’re landing is awesome!

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend James Frimmer, Realtor, CDPE
CA BRE #0145857201 HomeSmartDiamondSmall copy 2

02 HomeSmartRWnameOnly2 copy

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

6 thoughts on “Get up high enough and you can see ’em!

  1. appletonavenue

    How fun! I remember seeing the balloon ride when I was at the zoom but we didn’t. Next time we go I will make sure to take the ride. We did get to see the wild cats that trip though.

    We were just in San Diego in September, staying down in the Gaslamp District. Had a wonderful time wandering Balboa Park. I’m sorry we didn’t contact you, it would’ve been great to at least meet. I’ll make sure to contact you next time.

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.