My great white pelican

Picture of the Moment

A couple of decades ago I was working as a consultant in the wireless telecommunications industry. My home base was San Diego, but I was stationed at the time in Tampa, Florida. I loved it there. The city was great, the Gulf of Mexico and the bays were beautiful, and there were pelicans everywhere. Pelicans probably are my favorite bird that I have actually seen in the wild.

There was a waterfront store in Clearwater that had pelican statues of every shape and size. I knew that my final act when I had to leave Tampa would be to visit that store and buy one of the statues that had a Great White Pelican sitting on a post in the water. I had it shipped to San Diego but, sadly, it was broken when it arrived. I have never seen a similar statue again.

However……………………..

I saw the real thing a few days ago, right here at the San Diego Zoo!

I took a picture and made a Photographic Art stamp out of it:

Great White Pelican

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Need a unique gift?photograhic art taking pictures making art

Visit Russel Ray Photos.

Visit Photographic Art by Russel Ray Photos at Fine Art America.

►►►►◄◄◄◄

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend James Frimmer, Realtor, CDPE
CA BRE #0145857201 HomeSmartDiamondSmall copy 2

02 HomeSmartRWnameOnly2 copy

►►►►◄◄◄◄

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!

Real Estate Solutions by Russel Ray

16 thoughts on “My great white pelican

  1. mikisdad

    A lovely story Russel and thank you for the image. It brought back memories for me, too. I live in Australia and attended the Wattle Park Teacher’s college in South Australia, many years ago. At that time, its principal was Colin Thiele, who was also a well known author of children’s fiction. One of his best known works was a novel called ‘Storm Boy’ (later made into a film) which was set in the Coorong – the place where the might Murray river, that starts its life way up north in Queensland, finally meets the sea at the bottom end of Australia. Pelicans abound at the Coorong and are a feature of that story and your mention brought the book, the film, and of course, the place, all back to me. I thank you for that for I’m now in Queensland much closer to the start of the Murray than its end in South Australia.

    Should you want some light relief and a taste of Australia, combined with some Pelican, you may care to read the book or look out the film.

    Anyway, thank you.

    roger

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      I’m quite familiar with Colin Thiele. My husband of 21 years has worked at B. Dalton, Waldenbooks, Brentano’s, Borders, and Barnes & Noble bookstores during the past 37 years so I always get informed about books concerning my interests.

      Like

      Reply
      1. mikisdad

        My apologies – I should have realised that with your interest in Pelicans you would already be aware of such a well-known book as Storm Boy. I’m sorry if you considered my comment as demeaning. I really have to learn to keep my thoughts to myself. Thanks, anyway, for the memory.

        Like

        Reply
        1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

          No apology needed! By mentioning Thiele and the book, you have added to my post for other readers, and for that I thank you. This is the blogosphere! No need to keep your thoughts to yourself. How would we have so much fun?

          Like

          Reply
  2. tchistorygal

    They are beautiful. I haven’t been to Clearwater, FL since I was 13. We used to vacation near there in Punta Gorda where friends of my mom lived. This brought back memories. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
      1. tchistorygal

        Probably. I was a kid, and everything was beautiful. We lived in Indiana – hello! hehe I actually haven’t been back since. Thanks for the MD wishes. Right back at you. My husband’s son sent me a text of virtual flowers at 6:35 this morning. 🙂

        Like

        Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.