Now I know what “comfort food” is

Out & About

One of the things I like to do is dine out. In the local vernacular, dine out means not eating at home.

It’s no secret that my favorite restaurant is On The Border, a national chain. There’s nothing quite like a grande raspberry (remember to roll your R’s) swirl margarita accompanied by queso, guacamole, enchiladas, and rice, with a couple of jalapeños resting comfortably on top of the enchiladas.

Throughout the years, though, I also have learned that the local mom & pop hole-in-the-wall restaurants often are quite good. Unfortunately, some of them can also be quite bad, so it’s hit & miss when I try a new one.

In some cases, the book cover encourages me to go inside. Here’s one such book cover that I found in the Clairemont Mesa East neighborhood of San Diego:

Studio Diner, San Diego, California

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

The’s Studio Diner (says it on the sign; that’s how I know), located at 4701 Ruffin Road.

Studio Diner location in San Diego, California

See location on Google Maps

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Studio Diner was built in the ’40s as a “roadside stop.” It is wrapped in chrome, lighted with lots of neon, and decorated inside with behind-the-scenes movie-making equipment. Not coincidentally I don’t imagine, it is set on the lot of a working movie and TV studio, Stu Segall Productions.

You might remember Silk Stalkings and Renegade, both filmed at Stu Segal Productions. Many TV shows and movies have been set here in San Diego, but Silk Stalkings was the first to be filmed entirely in San Diego.

Studio Diner, San Diego, California

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I was by the diner at 7:30 a.m. heading to an 8:00 appointment so I did not get to stop to try their food. The place was quite busy, and it took me a while to get pictures without people or cars in them…. or maybe I just removed the people and cars using Photoshop…. You will never know!

Their web site says that they accept local celebrities so I know I am welcome. More importantly, though, they serve food specifically for the enjoyment of people like me. Check out their verbiage: “fun for the senses,” “serving comfort food,” and “basics like Burgers, Bacon & Eggs, grilled cheese and Reuben sandwiches, chicken pot pies.”

Ah-ha! I always have wondered what comfort food is! Now I know! It’s food that tastes really, really good…. but it is not good for you. My favorite kind of food. Maybe I will go eat there this weekend!

Studio Diner, San Diego, California

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Need a unique gift?
Consider Photographic Art!photograhic art taking pictures making art

Visit Russel Ray Photos.

Visit Photographic Art by Russel Ray Photos at Fine Art America.

►►►►◄◄◄◄

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend James Frimmer, Realtor, CDPE
CA BRE #0145857201 HomeSmartDiamondSmall copy 2

02 HomeSmartRWnameOnly2 copy

►►►►◄◄◄◄

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!

Real Estate Solutions by Russel Ray

27 thoughts on “Now I know what “comfort food” is

  1. Jane Dough

    Nice styling on the building! I hope that when you try their food it is really good! I think if you walk in and it smells good, that should be a clue! Hugs and be well – Jane

    Like

    Reply
  2. jolynnpowers

    please do try to eat their.. I used to eat at a place called the LA dinner that looked a little bit like this. I just want to see the inside and if it is a cool at the outside.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      With those scrumptious-looking burgers and you want me to try a chicken pot pie? Ha! Well, maybe after a few visits, but if the burgers taste as good as they look, I’ll never get past the burgers. And, by the way, Jim and I, and my new employee, Julian, are going there tonight, in just five minutes! Pictures Monday since tomorrow is Blog Love day.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: SNIPPETS (5-17-14)—You’re ugly, dirty lyrics, wwjd, and more! | Russel Ray Photos

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.