My fascination with heavy industry developed when I was six

Out & About

I lived in Brigham City, Utah, after my dad committed suicide, from 1961-1965.

Not too far from where we lived was a Thiokol plant, a gravel pit, and a railroad yard—lots of heavy industry.

That heavy industry created in me an appreciation and fascination with heavy industry, so whenever I’m out and about, and come across heavy industry, even if I don’t have a clue what it is, well, pictures of it are going to make their way into my photograph collection.

I traveled all the way up to Los Angeles and then headed east about sixty miles, to get these pictures of heavy industry in and around Pomona:

Water tower

Heavy industry

Pipes

Heavy industry

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

This post approved by
This post approved by Zoey the Cool Cat

Need a unique gift?
Visit Photographic Art by Russel Ray Photos at Fine Art America.

photograhic art taking pictures making art

28 thoughts on “My fascination with heavy industry developed when I was six

  1. lapbandformen

    Russel as always amazing work.
    I have a question for you. Is there an easy way to label pictures? I have pictures that I want to use on my blog but some I want to label with my name or copy right wording OR I want to write a message on them.
    Any Ideas??

    I thank you for your work and also in advance for any info you can provide.

    I need to write a different message as well to you as I have learned that we have an astounding amount of similarities in our lives. (that for another day)

    Have a great one.

    Jose G. Osuna
    http://www.lapbandformen.com

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      Hey, Jose. I use Adobe Photoshop CC for that. It’s not initially intuitive (at least it wasn’t to me), but once you learn where to go and what to do, it’s really easy.

      I also have used Corel PaintShop, Corel Draw, and even Word.

      What programs do you have? Knowing that, I can probably help you.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      Yes. I was on the way to San Bernardino for their Railroad Days. I rode the San Diego Trolley from near my place to downtown San Diego, then Amtrak to L.A. Union Station, then Metrolink out to San Bernardino. That was a pretty cool 90 miles from L.A. to San Bernardino! Lots of things to watch and photograph.

      Like

      Reply
      1. MFSWinter

        The Metrolink to San Bernardino is my ride everyday! The Metrolink train is a very comfortable ride, don’t you think? Thankful for its pretty reliable airconditioner especially during summers 😉

        Don’t know how I always manage to miss it (Railroad Days)!

        Like

        Reply
        1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

          I usually go to L.A. Union Station each year for National Rail Days, specifically to see the ATSF 3751 steam engine. However, I found out early this year that it would be at San Bernardino Railroad Days and not L.A. for National Train Day, so I made it to San Bernardino for the first time since 1995.

          I love Metrolink! And L.A. Metro, too!:

          Like

          Reply
  2. moderndayruth

    I think that the 2nd pic from the top is truly the work of art… I am more of a traditionalist when it comes to the artwork i keep on the walls – but honestly, i’d like seeing this one among the landscapes and stuff that is ‘exhibited’ back home in Monte. I’ve read recently the novel “Cloud Atlas” and i am reading right now Ishiguro’s “Never Let me go” and in my mind your photographs from this series somehow clicked with numerous excerpts from those texts…

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.