Oh, dear, my wise old grandmother was wrong

My wise old grandmother

Some relevant words from my wise old grandmother:

There are no shortcuts in life.

If you want something, work hard to get it.

Well, recently I wanted to be able to see the road when I was driving at night or in the wee hours of the morning.

It’s pretty much not possible when your headlights look like this:

Headlights

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I stopped by Pep Boys to ask about cleaning them since I had seen the commercial on television and the Internet. I was pretty sure that whatever I bought to clean them wasn’t going to work and that I’d be spending several hundred dollars on parts and labor to buy new headlight covers.

The Pep Boys boy (he really could not have been more than 16 or 17) was very knowledgeable, assured me that “the stuff works,” and even explained to me why it works and why simply washing the car wouldn’t clean them.

Here’s the stuff I bought:

Turtle Wax headlight lens restorer

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

It took about 15 minutes to do both headlights, and here is the result:

Headlights

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looks like my wise old grandmother was wrong! There was a shortcut, and I didn’t have to work hard to get what I wanted!

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

Looking for a unique gift for Christmas?

13 thoughts on “Oh, dear, my wise old grandmother was wrong

  1. draliman

    Well, I suppose you could argue that the easy option was to take your car to the garage and tell the mechanics to sort it out, whereas you went out, researched and sourced the cleaning materials and did it yourself. So maybe she wasn’t wrong after all, from a certain point of view 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
  2. chrllrobb.blog

    You can’t be right all the time! 🙂 I will have to write that down. That is an amazing change. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.