Fauna of the San Diego Zoo

San Diego Zoo logo

As promised yesterday, here are some pictures of the fauna residing at the San Diego Zoo.

Which is your favorite?

1 – FlamingoFlamingo at the San Diego Zoo

2 – Panda with toothpick
Panda at the San Diego Zoo

3 – Bear (not sure which species)
Bear at the San Diego Zoo

4 – One-legged ball of feathers
One-legged ball of feathers at the San Diego Zoo

5 – Meerkat sentry
Meerkat at the San Diego Zoo

6 – Secretary bird
Secretary bird at the San Diego Zoo

7 – Capybara (world’s largest rodent)
Capybara at the San Diego Zoo

8 – African lion
African lion at the San Diego Zoo

9 – Mountain lion
(the kind that lives in Southern California)
Mountain lion at the San Diego Zoo

10 – Reindeer with an itch
after delivering all those Christmas presents
Reindeer at the San Diego Zoo

11 – Great white pelican
Great white pelican at the San Diego Zoo

12 – White-faced whistling ducks
(wondering if the water is too cold)
White-faced whistling ducks at the San Diego Zoo

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

30 thoughts on “Fauna of the San Diego Zoo

      1. Pit

        I can easily beat you at that. 😉 As I have only recently started to catalogue my digital pictures [they date back to 1998!] I have thousands of them to still work on – and that inclkudes processing some and deleting a lot.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

          My computer disk of cataloged photos says I currently have 2,357,991 pictures. That doesn’t include everything since June 2017 that has not been cataloged, and that disk won’t tell me how many photos are on it. Stupid disk.

          I never delete a picture, though, because one of my purposes is to accumulate so many pictures that once I am no longer physically able to get out & about, I can sit at home and mess around with pictures. I also don’t know what the future might hold in this technological world. There might be software in the future that can do some really interesting things to what many might call a throwaway picture.

          https://russelrayphotos2.com/2017/06/26/how-i-did-it-theres-no-such-thing-as-a-throwaway-picture/

          https://russelrayphotos2.com/2013/09/10/making-something-out-of-nothing-at-all/

          That last link is my all-time favorite for taking a throwaway picture and making something out of it.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Pit

            Uh oh, I shouldn’t have boasted! 😀
            As to not deleting pics: you certainly have a point there. One never knows what – at a later time – might be done with them.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  1. anne leueen

    The capybara would be my favorite. He looks very laid back and wise.Two of them escaped from an old zoo in Toronto and they managed to remain at large for more than a month or two. I did hear one was recaptured and the other one may have been as well. i hoped they would be moved to the proper Toronto zoo , it is like the San Diego zoo in that there is a lot of open space and natural habitat for the animals there. Lovely photos and it was hard to choose just one favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.