Poetry Bench in Balboa Park

Rose are red, violets are blue, I don’t write poetry, so this will have to do

Out & About

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I think half of the 120 blogs that I visited today were mostly some sort of poetry.

I’ve always loved poetry and even tried my hand at it back in high school.

I found it too hard, much too hard for a testosterone-laden high school teenager……..lol

Reading so much poetry today reminded me that we have a poetry bench here in San Diego.

It’s down in the midst of Balboa Park, under a shady tree, and looks like this:

Poetry Bench in Balboa Park

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

See the note on the end of the bench? Here’s what it says:

poetry bench (1)-500 framed

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

I'm Zoey the Cool Cat, and I approve this post

Looking for real estate services in San Diego County?
I can highly recommend
James Frimmer, Realtor
Century 21 Award, DRE #01458572

If you’re looking for a home inspector,
I recommend Russel Ray — that’s me!Real Estate Solutions

Pictures copyright 2012 Russel Ray Photos

34 thoughts on “Rose are red, violets are blue, I don’t write poetry, so this will have to do

  1. hillbillyzen13

    If Roger Miller can make a hit record with “Now roses are red ‘n’ violets are purple, sugar is sweet and so is maple surple”, your poetry will certainly do. What a fantastic bench! Is it made from cob, I wonder?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Russel Ray Photos Post author

      The bench sits under a huge tree which provides plenty of shade on a hot, sunny day. However, there is so much shade that I found it too dark, almost depressing. Maybe it inspires depressing poems…….lol

      Like

      Reply
  2. Zellie M. Quinn

    Bench looks kinda short, could it be more of a ‘pedestal’ for poetry readers to stand on (above the crowd?) Love the idea of being there every 5th Sunday of the Month–

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Pondering Spawned

  4. grosenberg

    Would love a poetry bench. Of late I have come to enjoy live readings and look forward to doing one or two myself…

    Like

    Reply
  5. 2embracethelight

    How clever. Honesty and to the point. I went through Balboa Park back in 1969 I think. I had won a five day all expense paid trip to San Diego for a research project i did on ” The effects of Radiation of antibody production in organisms.” I thoroughly enjoyed the trip paid for by the Navy. I enjoy what you are about and enjoy your candor and even more Zoey! I have a cat Sammy that looks much like Zoey. It isn’t Sammy that makes too many demands it is Jada the little diva that has an opinion and attitude about everything!
    Yisraela

    Like

    Reply

Let your words flow

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.